Overview and objectives

The school focuses on plasma physics and its manifestations in laboratory experiments, space environment and in astrophysics. It targets an international audience primarily composed of PhD students and junior postdoctoral researchers. The objective is to introduce the participants to a wide range of fundamental aspects of plasma physics, as well as on the state-of-the-art in many of the sub-disciplines. This school follows up on four previous sessions held every two years since 2011 in Les Houches on similar topics (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017).

Important dates

Pre-registration opening: November 1st, 2018

Pre-registration closing: February 15th, 2019

Acceptance notification: Beginning of March 2019

Confirm attendence by March 15th, 2019.

Deadline for abstract submission: March 29th, 2019.

Proof of travel by April 19th, 2019.

School dates: May 13-24, 2019

The registration fee is 550€ 450€ (including taxes). It will cover all meals and accommodation for the full 11 days of the school.

Confirmed lecturers

  • Troy Carter (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
  • Benoît Cerutti (CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Christopher Chen (Queen Mary University of London, UK)
  • Andrea Ciardi (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Mickaël Grech (CNRS & Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • Thomas Grismayer (Instituto de Plasmas e Fusão Nuclear, Portugal)
  • Per Helander (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Germany)
  • Emmanuel d'Humières (Université de Bordeaux, France)
  • Karine Issautier (CNRS & Observatoire de Paris, France)
  • Miho Janvier (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Kumiko Kotera (CNRS & Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Matthew Kunz (Princeton University, USA)
  • Henrik Latter (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Sergei Lebedev (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Nuno Loureiro (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Andrea Mignone (Università di Torino, Italy)
  • Paolo Ricci (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • François Rincon (CNRS & Université Paul Sabatier, France)
  • Alexander Schekochihin (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Anatoly Spitkovsky (Princeton University, USA)
  • Hendrik Spruit (Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik Garching, Germany)
  • Tommaso Vinci (CNRS & Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • Philippe Zarka (CNRS & Observatoire de Paris, France)
  • Ellen Zweibel (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)

Organisation committees

Local organisation committee

  • Benoît Cerutti (CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Andrea Ciardi (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Miho Janvier (Université Paris-Sud, France)

Scientific organisation committee

  • Benoît Cerutti (CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Andrea Ciardi (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Emmanuel d'Humières (Université de Bordeaux, France)
  • Miho Janvier (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Nuno Loureiro (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)


CNRSfilaire_petit_2.jpglogolabex_vf_3.jpgblazon_investissement_avenir.jpgrsz_1logos_1.jpglogo_pnst_small.jpgpnps.jpgsiteon0.pngGDR LEPICE uga_1.jpeginp.png

Ecole de physique des Houches & partners


Online user: 1 RSS Feed